About the Senator

Quick Links

What's New?

"Jinggoy maintains never absent, never late record."

Posted: August 17th, 2011 @ 12:39am

Senate President Pro Tempore Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada maintained his record of perfect and punctual attendance of the First Regular Session of the Fifteenth Congress, as he did in previous years. 

“I personally would not want to be absent from the plenary sessions of the Senate. As much as possible, I do not make any commitments like speaking engagements, out-of-town trips, etc. while our session is ongoing. It is my duty, as a duly-elected Senator, to be present during session days and participate in legislative deliberations,” Sen. Estrada asserted.
Sen. Estrada also presides over plenary discussions, as when the Senate President is busy carrying out his other official duties as the leader of the Upper Chamber.

“Pro Tempore” is a Latin term meaning “for the time being.” 

Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile meanwhile went on official mission twice and on sick leave once.
Along with Sen. Estrada, Majority Leader Vicente Sotto III also had a perfect attendance based on the 92 approved Journals readily accessible through the Senate official website (www.senate.gov.ph). Journals are published and approved by the Senate to keep a record of the proceedings and floor activities. 

Rule 19 of the Rules of the Senate states that Journals shall contain “a list of Members who responded to the roll call, those who arrived at the session hall after the roll call, and those who are on official business/mission authorized by the Senate President... (and) those who are absent..."

The First Regular Session of the Fifteenth Congress has 95 session days starting from July 26, 2010, the same date of the first State of the Nation Address of President Noynoy Aquino.

Senate Journal shows that Sen. Angara attended 77 sessions, Arroyo 89, Alan Peter Cayetano 67, Pia Cayetano 79, Defensor-Santiago 33, Drilon 86, Estrada 92, Enrile 89, Escudero 89, Guingona 83, Honasan 89, Lacson 12, Lapid 73, Legarda 81, Marcos 74, Osmena 91, Pangilinan 76, Recto 80, Revilla 83, Sotto 92, Trillanes 40, Villar 61, and Zubiri 92.

Moreover, the same documents show that Sen. Angara arrived “after the roll call” 21 times, Arroyo 3, Alan Peter Cayetano 20, Pia Cayetano 3, Defensor-Santiago 1, Drilon 5, Estrada 0, Enrile 0, Escudero 15, Guingona 42, Honasan 1, Lacson 1, Lapid 10, Legarda 0, Marcos 13, Osmena 33, Pangilinan 29, Recto 25, Revilla 10, Sotto 0, Trillanes 11, Villar 35, and Zubiri 3.

Sen. Santiago has been marked “on sick leave” 54 times. Sen. Lacson has been “absent” for 79 plenary sessions. Sen. Trillanes has not been able to attend sessions for 49 times since he was then under detention.

Lastly, journals also specified Senators who frequently went “on official mission:” Sen. Manuel Villar 28 times, Alan Peter Cayetano 19, Pangilinan 13, Marcos 10, Legarda 10, Lapid 10.




Not yet a member? Register
Forget Password

Stay logged in across browser sessions

To subscribe to our enewsletter, please enter your email address in the box above and click the "Subscribe" button.

July 2016
View Full Calendar

Copyright © 2008 Senate President Pro Tempore Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada

Processing Time: 0.07138 seconds.